New Reviewer

Service and billing

This company is worse than the mob they scheme so much money that it’s not even funny it’s a shame. My gas was off for three months they were charging me $250. Or more a month and the damn *** was’nt even on
View full review
ID
#1259660 Review #1259660 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
South Jersey Gas Gas Supply
Reason of review
Problems with payment
New Reviewer

Absolutely deplorable

My bill was more than double Jan 2017 despite all new windows and being on a 10day vacation. They refuse to correct it ,insisting that its accurate. There is no getting through to them. Dont bother providing a number for them to call ya back. They will call, let it ring once and then hang up. I've had this happen several times. Its criminal how they are overcharging people and should be held accountable.
View full review
ID
#1218867 Review #1218867 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pleasantville, New Jersey
Reason of review
Pricing issue
New Reviewer

Poor Customer Service

Sent to: Michael Renna, President and CEO. SJ Industries. Michael, Can you please call me. I had a terrible time with your customer service representatives at 6 o'clock this evening. After waiting on hold for over an hour to speak with a customer service representative and then speaking to a supervisor. They were extremely confused and unprofessional to deal with, they didn't have copies of a paid bill that I was trying to explain to them time after time on the phone. Now they are telling me I Owe all this money. I was assured that I was current and paid up to date when I called in on March 8, 2018 and even had a credit balance of -$34.89 at that time. Nothing has been resolved today and I need to speak to someone competent and in charge to resolve my issue. Please Help
View full review
ID
#1214382 Review #1214382 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Horrible towards consumers

They know they the upper hand. 3 times in 1 year. No call no show for service after waiting 8 hours. Reason: oh we work on emergencies first. How long will that last.
View full review
ID
#1214251 Review #1214251 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
South Jersey Gas Gas Supply
Reason of review
Bad quality
New Reviewer

Refund of double payment

Horrible customer service. They actually blamed me, the customer. They are absolutely horrible to deal with. They need to take a course on how to talk to people as humans and not idiots. Supposedly I talked to a supervisor but she told me she would let me talk to a supervisior..... so who was I talking to.... the secretary ..... listen to your customers .... they keep you in business
View full review
ID
#1206489 Review #1206489 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
South Jersey Gas Customer Care
Reason of review
Problems with payment

Horrible

Bill has doubled from December 21, 2017 to January 24, 2018. House is always at 68 degrees. We are cold and wear heavy clothes. The meter was changed. South Jersey Gas Company informed us that we used that amount of gas due to the weather being cold. The weather was not very cold and it rained most of the time. We retired, downsized and relocated to this home which is in an Adult community. We have resided at our home for over two years and never received a bill over $200.00 . South Jersey Gas suggested we just go on a payment plan to pay the excessive bill. This response is unacceptable. An excessive outrageous bill is a fraud. We are refusing to pay bill. Waiting for new bill to see what amount they try to charge.
View full review
ID
#1200222 Review #1200222 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
South Jersey Gas Residential Gas Supply
Reason of review
Problems with payment

No Regard For Customers

I received a call from a neighbor that our gas was being turned off due to a break in main line in street. Our meters were disconnected, and at 8 pm the crew left with no explanation. So we have no heat, stove, or hot water. No attempt by SJG to communicate to its customers. Its phone system is designed to not be connected to a live person.
View full review
ID
#1194115 Review #1194115 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pleasantville, New Jersey
Service
South Jersey Gas Residential Gas Supply
Reason of review
Bad quality

Beyond *** Ridiculous and the worst customer service!

Have tried for 3 years to have my account corrected. I do not receive a paper bill as requested. The bill does not come electronically. There is no bill at all! A letter arrives with amounts to pay out of the blue. Example at the end of the summer a notice sent for a...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#1673112

I had the same problem. I didn’t realize I wasn’t receiving a bill.

When bills come in they just get processed and paid right away and I didn’t receive a paperless bill. Logged on to my account to look for a bill from last year for something else and realized there was $950 due bill now. I called and spoke with them and they advised me I was in paperlesss. I told them I never received a bill.

When they asked me to verify information they had on file they had an old email address but online portal showed my corr$ct address. Who knows what email they were sending to. They said it was to my correct email but I never received a bill and not in my spam or anything. Never once did they call or mail a letter of overdue bill now they want 50% and put me into 3 mo plan which is more then they would of received on the payment plan they kicked me out of because of past due bill and then more each month then my payment plan.

They want an unreasonable amount when I was willing to pay them what I would of paid them in those 3 months is not acceptable now.

Scam company. Then they redo there online portal probably because of all the issues with there old one and paperless problems.

View more comments
ID
#1189869 Review #1189869 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problems with payment

5 days of no heat. And still waiting for parts department

Furnace went down 12//28/17. Still down couldn’t get parts because of holiday weekend. Now they saying they will call. What a company. When they want their bill paid they want it on time.
View full review
ID
#1160249 Review #1160249 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
South Jersey Gas Gas Supply
Reason of review
Poor customer service
New Reviewer

South Jersey Gas is a Joke

They never showed up! I have a scheduled appointment on Friday from 8 am - 8 pm. It's 12 degrees, we wait there all day. No one shows up. I call customer service on Saturday 12/30 customer service says no one is working until January 2 and they would come out on January 4. This is a another week without heat and the temperatures are going to be under 20 degrees the whole week. The arrogant customer service representative on Saturday was not willing to make any attempt to provide any help in the matter. It's very sad to believe that a company that has control over your safety and well being is not set up to help nor do they care! Very Sad for NJ residents that are at the mercy of South Jersey Gas!
View full review
ID
#1158772 Review #1158772 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Glassboro, New Jersey
Cons
  • Absolutely horrible
  • No one cares about your safety
New Reviewer

Resolved: Getting a gas meter turned off

Update by user Dec 02, 2017

A girl very nice from sj gas came to shut off gas on friday 12 1 17

Original review posted by user Dec 01, 2017
I called on Thursday 11/23/17 to have my apt gas meter turned off because I moved to a house that also uses SJ gas. I was told they would be out Thurday 11/30/17. Gave them My cell phone and told them how to get into apt bldg anything I could so they could get in. Did not show of course called next morning was told they would come Friday 12/1/17 still not here. This is an ongoing thing with the company that they never show and you have to wait on the phone to recall sometimes for 30 to 50 minutes while some people are at work hard to do. I know of many tenants that this happens to and then they charge you the next months serv charge because they did not show up. They could at least credit you for that amount if they can't get this fixed.
View full review
Resolved
ID
#1140443 Review #1140443 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
South Jersey Gas Customer Care
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Outrageous deposit required!

I was a South Jersey gas customer for over 15 years with a unblemished payment history. I'm a senior citizen with a credit rating of well over 800. I lived in Delaware for the last 4 years and recently moved back to NJ. SJG now requires a $213.00 deposit for my new...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1380574

Good luck.

Utilities are one level above government and two levels above God and Country.

Q. How do you manage a $21 gas bill each month ? I thought NJ was cold.

ID
#1116209 Review #1116209 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Glassboro, New Jersey
Service
South Jersey Gas Residential Gas Supply
Reason of review
Problems with payment

Transfer services

I wanted my services transferred to a new home. My bill was in good standing and actually over paid. I started the process on Monday.. They needed me to prove who I was, regardless I had services. After jumping thru hoops with "exceptable" documents, they then tell me it takes 48 to verify. Now today is Monday, 1 week later, and they are saying they have no appointments available till Thursday. Meanwhile everything in my house is gas. They didn't seem to care, asked me if I wanted the appointment or not. If I could go with a different gas company I would and to already have an account with them and dealing with this is crazy.
View full review
ID
#1041315 Review #1041315 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
South Jersey Gas Service Transfer
Reason of review
Poor customer service

South Jersey Gas - Customer Care Review

I apply to turn on gas on my new home they said the gas line not used more rhan one year and need inspection Inspector come after 2 weeks and said they will change the gas line I stay more than 2 months no one come to do any thing I call them so many times they said they do not have designer to come to draw the new gas line As i have 3 child i rent apartment as my child cannot live without heat/ stove/ warm water I spend 1300 $ monthly to rent apartment while iam home owner all that becuase sjg is making fun not business
View full review
ID
#1031918 Review #1031918 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
South Jersey Gas Customer Care
Reason of review
Order processing issue

South Jersey Gas - Residential Gas Supply Review

Most ridiculous company I have ever had to do businesses with. They are so *** rude and ignorant. I rent my house and I have all the utilities under my name. Well one month I didn't get a bill and the bill was automatically re directed to my landlord. Couple days later my service was shut off. It has been over a week since I payed my bill in full online using my bank account and routing number. The money was immediately taken out of my account but hasn't cleared through there system yet. I called today and they said everything has cleared and they are sending a tech out to restore my service. Well no one came. I called then they said it hasn't cleared and lied about a conversation that we didn't have at 2:05pm telling me no one was coming. Well *** I'm working at 2:05pm I called at 9:30 am on my coffee brake while you told me someone was coming you dirty low life government sucking ***. I literally hate this company. Worst customer service ever. Hey south jersey gas. Why don't you hire people who actually will do there job and pay them a good wage instead of hiring government funding baby making low life for minimum wage.
View full review
ID
#1030888 Review #1030888 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
South Jersey Gas Residential Gas Supply
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy